Martin A. Schmidt became the 19th President of Rensselaer on July 1, 2022. Formerly, the provost of Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Schmidt was MIT’s senior academic and budget officer, with overall responsibility for the Institute’s educational programs, as well as for the recruitment, promotion, and tenuring of faculty. As provost, he worked closely with MIT’s deans to establish academic priorities, and with other members of the Institute’s senior team to manage financial planning and research support.

Read full biography

Martin A. Schmidt, B.S. '81, Ph.D.
President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Carmella Mantello, Mayor-elect of Troy
Member, Rensselaer Board of Trustees

John D. Bennett, B.S. '74, MD, FACC, FACP

John M. Capek, B.S. ’83, M.E. ’84, M.E. ’85, MBA ’87, Ph.D. ’88

Tom Capek, B.S. '86

Gary T. DiCamillo, B.S. '73, MBA

Darío Gil, PhD

David Ho, B.S. '86

Mary Humiston, MBA '90

Linda Pitzi Jojo, B.S. ’87, M.S. ’92, Secretary of the Board

John E. Kelly, III, M.S. ’78, Ph.D. ’80, D.H.L. (Hon.), Chair of the Board

Jeffrey L. Kodosky, B.S. '70

Mark M. Little, Ph.D. ’82

Kathryn I. Murtagh, B.S. '87, JD

Dr. Roderic I. Pettigrew, M.S. '73, Ph.D.

Daniel Pickett III, B.S. ’90

Curtis R. Priem, B.S. ’82, Vice Chair of the Board

Janet C. Rutledge, B.S. ’83, M.S., Ph.D.

Paula L. Simon, B.S. ’68, M.S., MBA

Srinivasan “Siva” Sivaram, M.S. ’85, Ph.D. ’86

Jackson P. Tai, B.S. ’72, MBA

T.J. Wojnar Jr., B.S. ’80, MBA

Thomas Baruch, B.S. '60, JD

Robert P. Bozzone, BMT '55, M.S.

John H. Broadbent Jr., BCH '59, MBA

George Campbell Jr., Ph.D, D.Sc. (Hon.), D.H.L. (Hon.)

Wanda Denson-Low, B.S. ’78, JD

The Honorable Arthur J. Gajarsa, BEE ’62, MA, JD

Arthur F. Golden. B.S. ’66, JD

Michael E. Herman, BMT ’62, MBA, Ph.D. (Hon.)

David M. Hirsch, BEE ’65, MBA

Nancy S. Mueller, B.S.

Linda S. Sanford, M.S. '75, Ph.D. (Hon.)

Paul J. Severino, B.S. ’69, Ph.D.

G. Robert Tod, BME '61, MBA

Edward J. Zander, B.S. ’68, MBA, Ph.D. (Hon.)

Frank Fischer, BHE ’64, MMG ’65

John Nigro, D.H.L. (Hon)

Roy N. Davis, M.S. '78 

Martin A. Schmidt ’81

Craig A. Cook
Secretary of the Institute and General Counsel

Rebecca W. Doerge

Jonathan S. Dordick
Vice President, Strategic Alliances and Translation
Institute Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, and Biological Sciences

Robert Hull
Vice President for Research

Ernie Katzwinkel
Vice President, Administration

John Kolb
Vice President, Information Services and Technology and Chief Information Officer

Peter Konwerski
Vice President for Student Life

R. May Lee
Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer for Institutional Impact

Eileen McLoughlin
Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Lou Padula 
Acting Vice President, Human Resources

Hanna Rodriguez-Farrar
Vice President and Co-Head of the Office of Community Engagement and Communications

Pamela Smith
Vice President and Co-Head of the Office of Community Engagement and Communications

Matthew J. Ter Molen 
Vice President, Institute Advancement

Jonathan D. Wexler
Vice President, Enrollment Management

Curt Breneman
Dean, School of Science

Evan Douglis
Dean, School of Architecture

Shekhar Garde
Dean of Engineering

Aric Krause
Dean, Rensselaer at Work

Mary Simoni
Dean, School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences 

Liad Wagman
Acting Dean, Lally School of Management

CHIPs Focus Team

  • Rebecca Doerge, Provost
  • Robert Hull, Vice President for Research
  • Shekhar Garde, Dean of Engineering
  • Mary Simoni, Dean of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences and formerly Acting Provost
  • Dr. Bijan Davari, consultant

Coordinating Focus Team 

  • Rebecca Doerge, Provost
  • Eileen McLoughlin, Chief Financial Officer
  • R. May Lee, Chief Strategy Officer and Vice President for Institutional Impact 
  • Jonathan Dordick, Vice President for Strategic Alliances and Translation
  • Jenn Brock, Manager of President’s Office Operations and Board Relations
Back to top